## MINUTES OF A REGULAR BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW HOLSTEIN NEW HOLSTEIN, WISCONSIN

April 20, 2011

The meeting was called to order by President, Oscar Beilke. Other School Board members present were Larry Petrie, Barb Roepke, Kathy Fett, Brenda Lefeber, Jeff Hebl and Don Turba. School Administrators present were Joe Wieser, Joan Steiner, Rick Amundson, Tammy Richter and Kathy Kops. Others present were Sue Klapperich, Mark Sherry, Steve Steiner, Brian Belair, Katie Belair, Joey Belair, Monica Belair, Werner Wittmer, Nanette Wittmer, Amy Letcher, Nate Laabs, Lesa Hubbartt, Robin Stuebbe, Andrea Rhoades, Peter Rhoades, Mary Langenfeld, Linda Hau, Matt Rupp, Ryan Romanoski, Gretchen Tompson, Jim Augustine, Mary Clausen, Dan Clausen, Mary Reindl, Nicole Fiedler, Pat Preston, Garrett Preston, Karissa Preston, Karren Cobble, Jaremy Cobble, Therese Wilk, Ben Zoelle, RS Leithold, Tara Leithold, Aileen Koenigs, Norah Olig, Lori Klotz, Rachel Skinkis, Bob Krumenauer, Michelle Voland, Angela Kestell, Douglas Kestell, Michelle Feuerstein, Mary Schmitz, Karen Hornickle, Steve Hornickle, Barbi Galarno, Cindy Ellenbecker, Coleen Allee, Cheryl Cook, Kyle Faucett, Kara Faucett, Trisha Sabel, John Schroeder, Jane Schroeder, Sandy Roeck, Pat Ausloos, Diane Ploederl, Dave Ditter, Aaron Turba, Dale Mueller, Scott Jadin, Carrie Jadin, Susie Rommelfanger, Laura Bell, Allen Hunt, Cheri McAllister, Kari Pearsall, Eli Pearsall, Donna Counselman, Judy Dylestra, Doreen Salkowski, Gail Boerger, Sly Flaskind, Larry Flaskind, Gayle Kruger, Dean Zimmerman, Gayle Klich-Voigt, Amy Letcher, Grace Flora, Jim Flora and Dave Bell among others.

Beilke announced that Mr. Arps had resigned his position and that the Board of Education appointed Brenda Lefeber to complete the remainder of his term until such time she would move into her elected position on the Board of Education.

Beilke verified that a notice of the meeting was legally publicized on April 14, 2011. This was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

During the Hearing of Individuals, Amy Letcher read a letter from J. J. Jenkins, a graduate of New Holstein High School who expressed his concerns regarding the status of the current teaching staff. Lesa Hubbartt and Grace Flora spoke on the issue of problem solving regarding issues with extending the teachers' present agreement to resolve the contract issues by meeting with and listening to union representatives to create respect and a stable atmosphere.

Motion by Hebl, seconded by Petrie to approve action items and report items on the consent agenda as stated. (Carried 7-0.)

Action items and report items approved on consent agenda include:

- Agenda for April 20, 2011 Board of Education meeting as submitted for publication
- Minutes: Board of Education (Resignation-Vacancy) meeting of April 14, 2011 and Board of Education (BOE Selection) meeting of April 14, 2011.
- Minutes: District Administrator Candidate Interviews of April 18, 2011 and April 19, 2011.
- Snow Make-Up date for Staff (Teacher Structured Work Day) on June 7, 2011
- Summer School date changes: June 8 through July 5, 2011
- April finance committee minutes, March financial statement, payroll and invoices for payment

 Total Revenues for March 2011
 \$ 1,711,428.18

 Expenditures for March 2011
 \$ 1,013,370.89

 YTD Fund Balance (All Funds) March 2011
 \$ 3,787,553.86

- Student Fees for the 2011-2012 school year
- Bid for John Deere X740 Lawn Tractor and attachments from Riesterer & Schnell, Inc. of Chilton
- Bids for sale of used garden tractors and attachments
- Lunch Prices for 2011-2012 school year
- Resignations of Shawn Rude (High School Social Studies Teacher) and Carol Limberg (High School Bowling coach)
- Hiring of Ben Zoelle as High School Varsity Volleyball coach and Gina Winkler as High School Pom Pon coach
- High School Summer Contracts for High School Guidance, Drivers Education, Band Director and Agriculture Instructor
- One year leave of absence (2011-2012 school year) for Kristin Wegner
- Second Reading- School Board Polices 445 Student Interrogation Interviews and 673.1 Purchasing Card.
- Middle School and High School Student Handbooks
- Recognition Autism Awareness Month: Lucy Champeau (Grade 2) and Melissa Simon (Grade 3)
- Recognition Art Attack: Alyssa Kremer, Anika Soto, Alysha Paul, Katya Martin del Campo and Jeremy Lisowe
- Three-Year Bus Contract with New Holstein Transportation (2011-2014)
- Administrative Reports of Amundson, Kops, Richter and Steiner
- Buildings and Grounds Committee Report of March 28, 2011
- Legislative Reports of April 4, 2011 and April 18, 2011

Wieser read a letter from Mr. Larry Dietz expressing a need for a fitness center committee to see to the rules and upkeep of the present facility. Motion by Turba, seconded by Hebl to approve formation of a New Holstein School District Fitness Center Ad Hoc Committee to consist of one Board of Education member, two staff, two community members, one coach. This committee would report recommendations to the Board of Education. (Carried 7-0.)

Motion by Roepke, seconded by Lefeber to approve the purchase of WASB Support Services to assist with the development of a staff handbook/grievance procedure. (Carried 7-0.)

## Other items of interest included:

- Lefeber will accept the "Class of 2011" at the high school's graduation on June 5, 2011 Awarding diplomas will be Turba, Hebl, Fett, Petrie, Roepke and Lefeber.
- Kops reported the number of seniors that are credit deficient or in jeopardy of not graduating.
- Top Ten Students in the "Class of 2011" are Katelyn Nielsen, Kelly Steffen, Sara Steffen, Erin Wiley, Rose Brenner, Tyler Kulow, Meghan Pasineau, Jacob Berchem, Brett Boettcher and Kari Meyers.
- Administrative response to Student Listening Sessions
- New Holstein Economic Development Corporation report Beilke
- Brenda Lefeber, Jeff Hebl and Larry Petrie were elected to the Board of Education for a three year period. Each signed their oaths of office.
- First readings for School Board Policies 411 Student Non-Discrimination and 671.3 Payroll Deductions

<ul> <li>Minor changes to Administrative Rules 421AR First Grade Admission and 673.1AR Purchasing Card</li> </ul>	
Motion by Hebl, seconded by Turba to adjourn.	(Carried 7-0.)
Oscar Beilke, President	Sue Klapperich, Acting Secretary